Support systems are essential for individuals reentering the community from incarceration. Support can come in multiple forms such as friends, family, or reentry professionals. Knowing that someone is there when you need them can make a world of difference between feeling lonely, or knowing that you have the tools to succeed. I spoke with a resident of Guest House about the importance of support systems.  She said that having a support system gives her security and “a sense of direction”. Additionally, she said “it helps me through my day”. Having a support system highlights the seriousness of reentry and recovery.

At Guest House, the residents make up their own support system. When a new resident moves into the House, the women provide support by chaperoning and welcoming her in. Regarding the resident support system, my interviewee said “I think it’s a beautiful thing”.

Brittany, GMU Intern at Guest House

